In Colorado, robbery is defined as the use of force or intimidation to take someone’s personal property. To prove this type of criminal charge, a prosecutor must establish that the defendant deliberately used force or intimidation to cause fear, that the victim feared an unlawful injury to themselves, that the property was taken in their immediate presence and/or that the defendant attempted to escape with this property. A robbery charges defense attorney from Baumgartner Law can represent and build a strong defense for you.
Types of Robbery Charges in Colorado
In Colorado, there are three types of robbery charges:
- Robbery is a Class 4 felony in the state that is punishable by up to six years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines.
- Aggravated robbery is a Class 3 felony that is punishable by up to sixteen years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines.
- Aggravated robbery of controlled substances is a class 2 felony that is punishable by up to 24 years in prison and up to a million dollar in fines.
Defenses to Robbery Charges in Denver, Colorado
Baumgartner Law has years of experience devising defense strategies for our clients. A possible defense to a robbery charge in Denver is no theft was committed. If there was no theft, then no robbery charge can be given. Other defenses include: identification – the district attorney cannot identify with certainty the defendant as the robber; that you did not intend to take anything; that no injury occurred, or that you did not use a deadly weapon, which is required for some types of robberies. Other defense strategies can include entrapment, police misconduct, duress, intoxication, or that the victim was not placed in fear of being hurt. A robbery charges defense attorney with a strong understanding of Colorado criminal law can create a strong defense for your case.
Burglary Crimes Attorney
To prove a burglary charge in Colorado, a prosecutor must prove that a defendant entered a property without permission with the intention to commit a crime. At Baumgartner Law, we have years of experience representing clients with this type of criminal case.
Types of Burglary Charges in Colorado
In Colorado there are there types of Burglary Charges:
- Third Degree Burglary is a Class 5 Felony and is punichable by 1 to 3 yerars in prison with 2 years of mandatory parole, and up to a $100,000 fine.
** However, Third Degree Burglary becomes a Class 4 Felony if the intent is to steal a controlled substance legally maintained on the property. Penalties include up to six years in prison and $500,000 in fines.
- Second Degree Burglary is a Class 3 or 4 Felony depending on the circumstances, and and is punishable by tow to twelve years in prison, andup to a $750,000 fine.
- First Degree Burglary is a Class 2 or 3 Felony and is a Crime of Violence, which means that there is a possibility of a mandatory sentence of 16-48 years in prison .
Defenses To Burglary Charges in Denver, Colorado
Baumgarnter Law has years of experience defending against burglary charges. Some of the possible defenses to burglary charges are: you are not the person that committed the burglary (mistaken identity); you were lawfully on the property or had a right to enter the property; or you did not intend to commit a crime when entering the property.
Schedule a Free Legal Consultation with an Experienced Robbery Charges Defense Attorney Today
If you’re facing robbery or burglary charges in Denver, it’s important that you hire an experienced burglary crimes attorney from Baumgartner Law. During a no-cost legal consultation, we can discuss the details of your case and answer any questions you have about the upcoming legal process.
To learn more and to schedule a no-cost legal consultation, call (303) 529-3476 today. We serve Denver, Lakewood, Aurora, and Boulder, Colorado, as well as other surrounding communities.