The state of Colorado defines assault as unlawful contact that injures another person. First and second degree assault are both felonies, serious offenses that can lead to years of prison time. If you have been charged with assault, contact a highly-rated felony assault attorney from Baumgartner Law who understands the laws and penalties associated with felony assault and has experience in negotiating with the district attorney and other authorities involved in your case. Don’t put your freedom and your rights in jeopardy by trying to deal with the charge alone. Baumgartner Law serves Denver, Lakewood, Aurora, and Boulder, Colorado.
Felony Charges in Colorado
All felony charges in the state of Colorado are serious, but a first degree felony assault charge is probably the most serious. First degree felony assault is assault with a deadly weapon intended to seriously harm or kill another. It carries a mandatory minimum sentence and is considered a crime of violence, which means you probably wouldn’t be considered for parole until you’ve served at least 75% of your sentence. Second degree felony assault is similar to first degree felony assault as involves the use of a weapon, but the intention of causing bodily injury is not as serious as in first degree assault. It can also involve harming someone by recklessness or by drugging them without their consent. Finally, third degree assault is a misdemeanor and occurs when bodily harm to another is caused by intentional contact, or recklessness or negligent behavior with a weapon. If you are charged with a felony in Colorado, it is crucial that you seek highly-rated legal counsel from Baumgartner Law.
Penalties and Felonies
The penalties given for felonies in Colorado vary according to the degree of the felony. First degree felony assault carries the heaviest penalties, as they can result in 4 to 48 years in prison in some circumstances. Second degree felony assault is less severe and can result in 2 to 24 years in prison, in some circumstances, and fines of up to $500,000. For serious felony assault charges, bail is set high – often $100,000 or more. Contacting a Colorado felony assault attorney may result in beating your charges, or lessening the penalties by showing your lack of intent to cause harm or your need for self-defense. The attorney at Baumgartner Law understands the defenses that exist for felony assault charges and can use their knowledge to help you.
Felony Menacing Attorney
In Colorado, “menacing” is a charge that can happen if you frighten someone with a threat of imminent bodily harm. If a deadly weapon is involved, menacing becomes a felony. Otherwise, it is considered a misdemeanor. The prosecutor must prove that you intended to create this fear in another person, and that the other person was actually in fear of imminent bodily harm.
If you’ve been accused of a felony charge, a highly-rated felony attorney from Baumgartner Law can defend you. To schedule a professional initial consultation, call us at (720) 626-9418. We serve Denver, Lakewood, Aurora, and Boulder, Colorado and are well-equipped to help you achieve the best possible outcome.